585 Sugar Grove Church Road, Marion, KY

The Sugar Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church is located seven miles east of Marion, KY, a short distance off South Highway 120.

The church was organized in 1840, chiefly through the efforts and influence of Rev. William C. Love. The charter members were principally from Piney Fork Cumberland Presbyterian Church, who found it inconvenient to attend services there because of distance and bad roads.

A neat log cabin was built for worship, located on Phillips Branch of Piney Creek in a grove of large sugar Maples near a beautiful spring. A large shed was also built and camps were made for the annual camp meetings.

In 1884, the members, with the help of the community, built a new frame church about three-fourths of a mile northwest of the old church on higher ground and more conveniently located. This building was dedicated in April of 1885, while Princeton Presbytery was in session at Sugar Grove. The Rev. J. W. Molsel preached the dedication sermon.

In 1954, a new brick building was erected. This building was destroyed by fire on March 27, 1980. The ground breaking service for the present building was held on June 1, 1980. The first worship service was held in the new building on Easter Sunday, April 19, 1981.

Members and friends that took part in the ground breaking service were Rev. Ray Lathem, Minister; Mrs. Rose Hill, CPW President; Donnie McConnell, Chairman of Building Committee; Marvin Roberts, Vice Chairman of Building Committee; Clinton Drennan, Trustee; Paul Herron, III, Sunday School Superintendent; Mark Lathem, CPYF President; and Rev. J. C. Womack, Executive Secretary of Kentucky Synod.

The following people have served as Pastors of sugar Grove C. P. Church: Rev. W. C. Love, Thomas Hale, Lysander Wilson, Rev. Nichols, Wilson Bone, Silas Davis, Thomas Willis, James Templeman, Mabron Marlow, J. B. Garrett, Jacob Lowry, C. R. Cain, Edwin E. Bird, W. C. M. Travis, W. A. Kinsolvin, James F. Price, S. M. Griffin, Rev. W. W. Wynns, G. L. Woodruff, J. T. Barbee, B. T. Waston, W. T. Oakley, J. M. Cook, T. C. Newman, C. T. Boucher, George H. Cole, W. L. Davis, Ray Wigginton, W. W. Rutherford, Edd Glover, R. T. Mitchell, G. F. Phelps, A. R. Poole, Paul O. Belt, Bill Bond, Keith G. Atwell, Kenneth Hooper, Ray Lathem, James Messer, Terry Vasseur, Stan Gerard, Richard Stewart, Frank McCallum, Gary Carlton, and Terra Sisco.