750 Grand View, Buncombe, IL

In 1871, in the village of Lick Creek, Illinois, Reverend Thomas Wells hosted a brush arbor revival meeting.  This revival meeting resulted in the organization of Ebenezer Hall Cumberland Presbyterian Church.  The church is located 10 miles east of Anna, IL at Buncombe, IL.
Some of the family names that were charter members are: Hogue, Corbit, Miller, Menees, Gurley, Hubbs, Coleman, Wiggs, Davis, Mangrum, Truelove, Williams, Hammet, and Hankla.

In the beginning, worship services were held on the first floor of a two-story building that belonged to the Masonic Hall.  A one-room frame building with basement was built in 1948 and dedicated in 1949.  In the early years, Ebenezer Hall was with the Illinois Presbytery, now the church is in the Covenant Presbytery.

The first record of a Sunday School was 1881.  A Christian Endeavor Society was in existence for about 25 years; meetings were held regularly every Sunday night.

There is a record of two outstanding revivals in the history of the church.  About the year 1920, a revival was conducted by Reverend M. C. Wasson, which resulted in twenty conversions.  Another revival held in September, 1955, by Reverend Lloyd Blades, which resulted in fifteen conversions and seventeen additions to the church.

Four members from Ebenezer Hall have entered into the ministry.  They were B. G. Magrum, Earl Roberts, D. E. Williams, and Joe Hankla.
Ebenezer Hall has had numerous ministers with two of them being endorsed for moderator of the 173rd General Assembly of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in 2003.  The Reverend Eugene Leslie served 1958-1960 and 1966-1967, and Reverend Dr. Charles McCaskey served 1960-1962.

Ministers that have served the Ebenezer Hall Church are: The Revs. Thomas Wells, R. H. Pryor, J. C. Thompson, G. W. May, J. A. Whiteside, W. L. Collins, B. G. Mangrum, J. A. Hill, J. T. Coleman, M. C. Wasson, Roy Shelton, D. E. Williams, Lowell Earnhart, J. G. Whiteside, Clarance Barger, Joe Russell, Earl Roberts, Charlie Evitts, Loyde Blades, Eugene Leslie, Charles McCaskey, Don Caperton, Vernon Murphy, Don Shanks, Lester Kesler, Gene Turner, Terry Gray, Dare Aden, Dewayne Franklin, Courtney Fooks, Sam Foreman, Dwight Kaylor, Sean Asbell, and Mike Chesnut.

Ebenezer Hall church has been blessed through the years.